Apply for SWANA & ISOSWO Scholarships

Feb. 13, 2020

In order to prepare the next generation for the environmentally and economically sound practice of solid waste, SWANA has developed several scholarship and internship programs for students studying in fields related to solid waste management. Applicants must apply for these scholarships through ISOSWO, the Iowa Chapter of SWANA. The Iowa award winners will be submitted to SWANA for consideration of the national scholarship award. All scholarship winners will be invited to the annual Iowa Recycling and Solid Waste Management Conference and Trade Show. 

Schedule for Selection

  • May 1 — Deadline for submission of application materials to Chapter Scholarship Committee
  • June 1 — Deadline for submission of chapter candidates for review by International Scholarship Committee
  • July 15 — International Scholarship Committee meets to select winners
  • August 1–15 — Announcement of International Scholarship winners


There are three scholarships with varying eligibility requirements. 

  • Grant H. Flint Scholarship Category I = $1,500
  • Grant H. Flint Scholarship Category II = $1,000
  • Robert P. Stearns/SCS Engineers Scholarship = $1,000


Apply Today